Two MLAs resign on the eve of assembly elections in Nagaland

Enewstime News Images

Agartala, Feb 01, 2023, By Our Correspondent

Two MLAs resigned from Nagaland assembly elections ahead. They are T Yangseo Sangtam, independent MLA from Pungro-Khipre constituency number 60 and Deputy Speaker of the state assembly, and Thongwang Kanyak of the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) from Mansahar constituency number 46.

The information and public relations department issued a statement on Wednesday citing sources in the state secretariat. Last Monday, they sent the letter of resignation to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. The Speaker accepted their resignations in the 13th Legislative Assembly and declared the respective constituencies void of MLAs.

According to information and public relations department sources on Wednesday, polling will be held in one day on February 27 in all 60 constituencies of the state. Accordingly, the Election Commission of India has issued a notification for the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly elections on 31st January.